Winter 2017 Episode Rankings – Week 5

Back from the expo, which was fun as usual, and I didn’t spend *too* much money or lose *too* much shelf space either! Truly a win-win situation.

Now that I’ve caught up with everything, it’s time to think about what changes I want to make to my lineup for the season’s second half~ Let me know if there are any Winter series not already on my list that you think I’d like, or that you think I’d hate but want me to suffer through, or just anything you want to see added TBH, and I’ll consider it! 😀

Great master-disciple interactions, fantastic rakugo performances and a shock ending made this an easy #1.

Great master-disciple interactions, fantastic rakugo performances and a shock ending made this an easy #1.

1 – Shouwa Genroku Rakugo Shinjuu 2 ep 5 (↑ 3)

2 – Kuzu no Honkai ep 5 (↓ 1)

3 – Kono Subarashii Sekai ni Shukufuku wo! 2 ep 5 (↓ 1)

4 – Mobile Suit Gundam: Iron-Blooded Orphans S2 ep 17 (↑ 1)

5 – Little Witch Academia TV ep 5 (↓ 2)

6 – Kobayashi-san Chi no Maid Dragon ep 5 

7 – 3-gatsu no Lion ep 17 (↑ 2)

8 – Gabriel DropOut ep 5 (↓ 1)

9 – Yowamushi Pedal: New Generation ep 5 (↓ 1)

10 – Masamune-kun no Revenge ep 5 (↑ 1)

11 – All Out!! ep 18 (↑ 3)

12 – ClassicaLoid ep 18 (↑ 1)

13 – Chaos;Child ep 5 (↑ 2)

14 – Ao no Exorcist: Kyoto Fujouou-hen ep 5 (↓ 2)

15 – Onihei ep 5 (↑ 2)

16 – ACCA: 13-ku Kansatsu-ka ep 5 

17 – Urara Meirochou ep 5 (↓ 7)

18 – Chain Chronicle: Haecceitas no Hikari ep 5 

Nikaidou's determination is admirable - he remains my favourite character in the series.

Nikaidou’s determination is admirable – he remains my favourite character in the series.

Moving up:

As with last season, 3-gatsu no Lion has spent most of its time in the top half of my rankings. Recent episodes have been focused more on Rei, shogi and the tournament, so it was a refreshing change to see his sister Kyouko and the three Kawamoto sisters show up again… and finally the two sides meet! A bit awkward, but Momo calling Kyouko a witch provided a great laugh in what was otherwise another heavy, emotional episode dealing with Rei and his family situation. Consistently good, if a little too slow-paced to break into my Top 5.

I asked for more rugby, and All Out!! delivered! Well, okay, the game started last week and my ratings didn’t change then, but their opponents hadn’t really been introduced. In this episode we learned that, despite having talented individual players, Tenjiku is a new team that have yet to mesh well or form a proper playing style. In particular, the character Renpei stands out – skilled, but forever lashing out at his team mates and captain. Fortunately, their internal chaos is allowing Jinko to score some points, and a few of their characters are getting good development as well!

Is that strange ghostly figure really supposed to be human? :razz:

Is that strange ghostly figure really supposed to be human? 😛

Moving down:

The only real drop of note this week happened to Urara Meirochou. The ‘White Kimono Festival’ episode was short on the usual gag comedy antics that I’ve come to expect from the series… that, or the jokes were there, but didn’t make me laugh. Always hard to tell the difference. Anyway, after Chiya got drunk, ran away and fell asleep, she woke up and met a god; this caused Kon to feel jealous of her friend and rival student’s abilities. So we got a little character development, but not a lot else this week.

A slight drop for Little Witch Academia TV, but I’m surprised at how much I enjoy it each week despite it being episodic, and lacking any real plot or truly laugh-out-loud comedy moments. I think I just love the setting more than anything else, a world where a greedy dragon can swindle money from a witches academy for generations, so that he can invest it in stocks. 😛 Diana taking him down was brilliant, though I am getting a little weary of her winning/saving the day each time, hopefully we’ll see some variation eventually.

When you consider Gab could end humanity at any time out of sheer boredom, the level is probably accurate!

When you consider Gab could end humanity at any time out of sheer boredom, the level is probably accurate!

General comments:

I’ve not really mentioned Gabriel DropOut since Week 1 – as I predicted then, introducing all the characters in the first episode meant that there hasn’t been a lot of variation in the jokes and character interactions since then, though it’s surprising how a change of scenery like the beach episode can keep things fresh despite that. This week, we did finally get a new character in the form of Tapris, an angel who still possesses the virtues you’d expect from one, albeit along with a fear of the human world and its many evils. The jokes were, again, exactly the same (Tapris reacting to the fallen Gabriel, reacting to the charming demon Vignette, and being locked in a room with the chuunibyou Satania while Raphiel watches in fits of laughter), but as its stable rankings would suggest, I’ve not grown tired of it yet!

I said before that I probably wouldn’t drop Chain Chronicle: Haecceitas no Hikari from these rankings, but I’m having second thoughts. It’s little more than a guilty pleasure, and I can’t see it rising much if at all, given that both the episodes with strong fight scenes and the episodes with attempts at character development have fallen flat due to poor pacing, writing and cliches. If Yuri and Aram’s bonding, the former’s inner struggles and those cute earth and fire sprites can’t get it out of last place, maybe I’d be better off switching it for something else. As ever, it has one more week and one more episode to make me change my mind.

Could this sudden conflict between former allies prove interesting enough to keep Chain Chronicle in my list?

Could this sudden conflict between former allies prove interesting enough to keep Chain Chronicle in my list?

<< Winter 2017 Episode Rankings – Week 4

3 Responses to Winter 2017 Episode Rankings – Week 5

  1. GoodbyeNavi says:

    Where are you watching Little Witch Academia?

    I’ll admit that I stopped watching 3-gatsu no Lion because of its incredibly slow paced but I plan on starting again in the summer. On a day where I want something relaxing but enjoyable. I did like it but not something that should be watched while tired. Thanks for posting your rankings!

    • Asenshi fansubs for Little Witch Academia.

      Series as slow as 3-gatsu no Lion usually suffer badly in my rankings, simply because the other shows have more going on in each episode. The fact it’s managed to hold onto such a high position each week just goes to show how great the writing and character development is, in my opinion at least. 😀

Leave a Reply

