Winter 2017 Episode Rankings – Week 10

And suddenly, shows are ending! Completely without warning too, as I’ve been too busy over the past couple of weeks to look up the expected episode counts for anything I’m watching. So, back to 18 series it is from next week…

Shinnosuke is the cutest.

1 – Shouwa Genroku Rakugo Shinjuu 2 ep 10

2 – Kuzu no Honkai ep 10 (↑ 2)

3 – Mobile Suit Gundam: Iron-Blooded Orphans S2 ep 22 (↓ 1)

4 – Ao no Exorcist: Kyoto Fujouou-hen ep 10 (↑ 1)

5 – Kono Subarashii Sekai ni Shukufuku wo! 2 ep 10 (↓ 2)

6 – Kobayashi-san Chi no Maid Dragon ep 10 

7 – Gabriel DropOut ep 10 (↑ 6)

8 – 3-gatsu no Lion ep 22 (↓ 1)

9 – Youjo Senki ep 10 (↑ 3)

10 – Yowamushi Pedal: New Generation ep 10 (↓ 2)

11 – Little Witch Academia TV ep 10 (↓ 2)

12 – Masamune-kun no Revenge ep 10 (↓ 1)

13 – Urara Meirochou ep 10 (↑ 3)

14 – Kemono Friends ep 10 (↑ 5)

15 – ClassicaLoid ep 23 (↓ 5)

16 – ACCA: 13-ku Kansatsu-ka ep 10 (↑ 1)

17 – All Out!! ep 23 (↓ 2)

18 – Chaos;Child ep 10 (↓ 4)

19 – Onihei ep 10 (↑ 1)

20 – Chain Chronicle: Haecceitas no Hikari ep 10 (↓ 2)

A predictable ending, but anything else wouldn’t have felt right. 😛

Ending:

Perhaps I should have seen the end of Kono Subarashii Sekai ni Shukufuku wo! 2 coming, given that the first series also ended at an unfortunately short 10 episodes. After ep 9 ended with the Axis cult turning on Aqua, forming an angry mob and surrounding their accommodation, I was a little disappointed by how easily our ‘heroes’ escaped. I guess there was still a final boss in need of defeating – nice to see a Slime not treated as some ridiculously weak creature for once, and his interactions with Wiz were funny. The final battle itself was decent, both in terms of action and comedy, though I did prefer the fights against the Dullahan and the Destroyer fortress from series 1; I’d say it was a little rushed as well, but compared with some other anime finales, far from the worst. In summary, one of the weaker episodes of this sequel, but still manages to place in my Top 5, which says a lot about how much I enjoyed the series. Here’s hoping for a third one!

I’ve barely mentioned 3-gatsu no Lion at all; not only is it from last season, so less shiny and new than most other shows in my lineup, but it’s barely moved in my rankings either. Consistency is good though! And while the series has shown us a lot of different things – from episodes focused on shogi, to happy slice of life comedy, to dark emotional turmoil – it was fantastic at portraying all of these (sometimes in the same episode), so I didn’t end up just preferring ‘the funny parts’ or ‘the serious episodes’ like I do in some other anime that shift from one tone to another. I still don’t know a thing about shogi, but that didn’t hinder my enjoyment at all. It was definitely the characters that made this series, with our troubled protagonist Rei being far more interesting than most of the my lineup’s other leads. The animation, direction and music were also great, however! If I wasn’t so into cheap laughs and fight scenes, no doubt this would have ranked much higher.

Hayashida-sensei is another fantastic side character, and so supportive of poor Rei.

Moving up:

Gabriel DropOut was definitely starting to feel repetitive, so the change of scenery to Heaven and Hell was greatly appreciated. Gab’s comparison of their low-tech but innocent world to Japan’s Showa era and Vigne’s reunion with her pet monster were pretty good, though for me the highlight was definitely meeting Satania’s parents… no wonder she turned out the way she did! Gabriel blagging her way to a higher allowance by sharing tales of her gaming achievements made for a decent finale to one of the series’ funnier episodes.

Another series that started to get repetitive fast, Urara Meirochou‘s Promotional Exam was definitely an improvement on recent eps. A clear goal to work towards, a great labyrinth filled with amusing obstacles and traps, and the return of Kon’s fox spirit got the episode off to a great start, but a darker turn at the end with Chiya being captured certainly has me looking forward to the next episode! We still don’t know much about Chiya… can’t say I’m expecting to learn a lot this series, the manga is ongoing after all, but hopefully this will lead to some answers at least.

Some jokes never get old.

Moving down:

Chaos;Child started poorly, peaked just outside my Top 5 mid-season, and now looks likely to end poorly. I still think it’s all down to the rushed start and lack of character development – those middle episodes where the mysteries got deeper, the atmosphere more intense and the murders more horrendous were exactly what I wanted from the series. The story is there, and it’s good. But now that we’re learning who the mastermind is and why they’re doing it, I find that I don’t care again, because I’ve barely seen anything of them all season and virtually forgot they existed.

This week’s Chain Chronicle: Haecceitas no Hikari was a slow build-up episode before the final battle (this time, hopefully!) with the Black King. Strategizing, motivational speeches, and an emotional discussion between Aram and Phoena. Nothing I haven’t seen in tons of series before it. Things got more action-packed in the second half, as the invasion began… but I don’t care. I’m not sure I ever did care, hence why even Chaos;Child scores higher. Too many game characters shoehorned in, little development, and zero originality. But it’s almost over, so I’ll keep watching.

Chaos;Child has been so rushed, there’s barely been any time for the product placement that’s so characteristic of the Science Adventure series.

<< Winter 2017 Episode Rankings – Week 9

One Response to Winter 2017 Episode Rankings – Week 10

  1. […] << Winter 2017 Episode Rankings – Week 10 […]

Leave a Reply

