Spring 2017 Episode Rankings – Week 6

It’s week six, and the series that I’m dropping from my lineup… don’t include Alice to Zouroku. That just didn’t air this week. No, the shows I’ve dropped are far more predictable: Sagrada Reset for being unbelievably boring despite its great premise, and Hinako Note because the scarecrow thing and lack of acting were getting very dull.

Replacing them will be Fukumenkei Noise and Busou Shoujo Machiavellianism, but more on them below~

FINALLY, a change in the #1 spot! So many amusing faces from Nina this week ❤

1 – Shingeki no Bahamut: Virgin Soul ep 6 (↑ 2)

2 – Shingeki no Kyojin S2 ep 6 (↓ 1) 

3 – Berserk (2017) ep 6 (↑ 10)

4 – Seikaisuru Kado ep 6 

5 – Zero kara Hajimeru Mahou no Sho ep 5 (↑ 4)

6 – Danmachi Gaiden: Sword Oratoria ep 5 (↑ 1)

7 – Oushitsu Kyoushi Haine ep 6 (↑ 1)

8 – Little Witch Academia ep 18 (↑ 2)

9 – Fukumenkei Noise ep 5 

10 – Clockwork Planet ep 6 (↑ 7)

11 – Re:Creators ep 6 (↑ 3)

12 – SukaSuka ep 5 

13 – Renai Boukun ep 6 (↓ 7

14 – Boku no Hero Academia S2 ep 6 (↓ 12

15 – Sakura Quest ep 6 (↑ 3)

16 – Busou Shoujo Machiavellianism ep 6 

17 – Kabukibu! ep 6 (↓ 2

18 – Granblue Fantasy The Animation ep 6 (↓ 7

19 – Yowamushi Pedal: New Generation ep 17 (↓ 3

Shame they couldn’t have Yuzu keep miming to Nino’s singing, his crossdressing days ended too soon!

Newly added:

First up is Fukumenkei Noise – I don’t know why I didn’t pick this up in Week 2 along with the other late-starters. I loved the first episode, with all its emotion and good music… I think I just felt that since it was a shoujo romance/love triangle series, it wouldn’t hold my interest for long. Five episodes in, and I still really like it! Nino is such an amusing main character, and I like Yuzu a lot as well; still not sure what to make of Momo, but learning more of his backstory this week was nice.

I wasn’t so sure what (if anything) to go with for a second series, but I figure that guilty pleasure Busou Shoujo Machiavellianism is at least likely to fare better than the two I dropped. The setting isn’t hugely original by anime standards, an all-girls school turned co-ed ruled by martial-arts weirdos. It’s not short on fanservice either. But for some reason, maybe because it takes the weirdness to such extremes, I’ve really grown to like it! Episode 4’s bear sumo was likely the best the series has offered so far (and I’m glad Kyo-bo’s sticking around); this week’s ep was largely build-up for the battle against the next of the Five Swords, but the crazy Satori and her masked minions seem like they’ll be fun~

Buri buri! Buri buri! Buri buri!

Moving up:

Finally, some action in Berserk (2017) following a couple of slower eps! The second half’s troll battle in the village was great, and again, the animation doesn’t seem as clunky as it did in last year’s series during the fights. The first half wasn’t bad either, the old man’s story of his past and meeting the witch was interesting, and seeing Farnese come face to face with another witch-hating zealot (like she was until very recently) should add even more to her character development. All I hope is that the guy doesn’t ruin Schierke’s concentration and get a load of people killed…

Zero kara Hajimeru Mahou no Sho makes its Top 5 debut! The series had felt like quite the slow-paced, banter-filled journey up to this point, mostly focused on Albus and Zero teasing our long-suffering Mercenary protagonist, so the sudden change in tone when Albus returned to find his destroyed and most of its inhabitants killed came as a surprise. Goes to show that Zero’s claims the grimoire could destroy the world may not be an exaggeration! Piecing up the mystery of what happened in the village, learning more of the Mercenary’s past, and the battle between Zero and Thirteen at the end made for an all-round strong episode.

Even Zero’s magic has limits.

Moving down:

Another setup episode from Granblue Fantasy The Animation, introducing the new sky island of Valtz… I don’t know why, but the idea of floating volcanoes (where does the magma come from!?) bothered me more than the concept of floating islands in general. 😛 Also a new quest: find the missing Archduke. And a new character, in the form of Io, the archduke’s apprentice. All very pretty, very relaxing. This was an okay episode, though nothing special – it placing this low just demonstrates how strong my lineup is, now that I’ve got rid of the only two I didn’t like.

And in last place by a long shot, Yowamushi Pedal: New Generation. I wouldn’t have believed that last season. Heck, I wouldn’t have believed it last week, since I assumed it would spring back up the moment the interhigh started. How long are they going to drag on first year Kaburagi’s ‘I’m an all-rounder!!1’ joke, because it was already grating on me part-way through this episode… I wouldn’t want it to carry on throughout the entire race, only for him to twig that he’s better suited to sprinting right at the final spurt or something like that. 😮 Really haven’t warmed to him yet. Aoyagi’s alright, but I can’t say I like him as much as Onoda, Imaizumi and Naruko either. Hopefully Midosuji’s Kyoto Fushimi will make their move soon – first though we have Hakone’s Doubashi, who’s certainly showy and confident. With any luck, some decent rivalry and closely-contested races will get this series back out of the red, as it really shouldn’t be here.

Now, a full episode of Onoda and Manami cycling in the snow, that I might enjoy more. 😛

<< Spring 2017 Episode Rankings – Week 5

One Response to Spring 2017 Episode Rankings – Week 6

  1. […] << Spring 2017 Episode Rankings – Week 6 […]

Leave a Reply

