Spring 2017 Episode Rankings – Week 7

This time, it was Seikaisuru Kado‘s turn to take a break, leaving me with only 19 episodes to watch once again. If this continues, I’m going to have to find a new hobby to fill all the extra spare time. 😛

Berserk keeps on rising! I loved the kelpie.

1 – Berserk (2017) ep 7 (↑ 2)

2 – Shingeki no Kyojin S2 ep 7 

3 – Shingeki no Bahamut: Virgin Soul ep 7 (↓ 2

4 – Zero kara Hajimeru Mahou no Sho ep 6 (↑ 1)

5 – Boku no Hero Academia S2 ep 7 (↑ 9)

6 – Fukumenkei Noise ep 6 (↑ 3)

7 – Yowamushi Pedal: New Generation ep 19 (↑ 12)

8 – Busou Shoujo Machiavellianism ep 7 (↑ 8)

9 – Danmachi Gaiden: Sword Oratoria ep 6 (↓ 3

10 – Renai Boukun ep 7 (↑ 3)

11 – Little Witch Academia ep 19 (↓ 3

12 – Alice & Zouroku ep 6 

13 – Kabukibu! ep 7 (↑ 4)

14 – Re:Creators ep 7 (↓ 3

15 – Oushitsu Kyoushi Haine ep 7 (↓ 3) 

16 – Sakura Quest ep 7 (↓ 1

17 – SukaSuka ep 6 (↓ 5)

18 – Clockwork Planet ep 7 (↓ 8)

19 – Granblue Fantasy The Animation ep 7 (↓ 1

I should have known she was tsundere from the twintails, tropes never lie!

Moving up:

I think Kabukibu! might be the most neglected series ever to feature in my weekly rankings – I haven’t focused on it since my big Week 1 post! Probably for the best really, as while watching Kurusu enthusiastically recruit new members was mildly amusing, it wasn’t anything I hadn’t seen before in other school club series. Now that this initial recruitment is over, and the actual acting has started, I’m starting to enjoy it a lot more. I was particularly surprised by this week’s revelation that Kiriko from the drama club (a character that I previously didn’t like) was DELIBERATELY playing the villain, throwing the result of their duel in order to give the Kabuki club the auditorium space. Aside from that, more character development and background for Shin was nice… I’ll always miss the flashy blonde and red hair, though. 😦 A good series, even if it does struggle to stand out with its slower pacing.

Another series that’s suddenly delivering a lot of character development is Renai Boukun… and although it was good enough to move up this week, I do hope it doesn’t end up becoming TOO serious. I feel the series excels when it comes to comedy; I want to see Guri making some more weird pairings and having to deal with the chaos that ensues, things like that. But from Shikimi, to Maoh, to Akane’s mother, the ‘villains’ keep on coming. Meh, as long as it remains fairly wacky, I guess I can tolerate a little romance and plot. 😛

It’s not as if all Renai Boukun’s comedy has evaporated, the hitmen were amusing.

Moving down:

I still don’t really ‘get’ SukaSuka. The world in which it is set seems grand and complex, the cast is large, and with the series trying to develop it all at once, I find that I don’t particularly care about any of it. I mean, when a major character breaks down, nearly passes away, but doesn’t due to the power of love (or whatever), I’d normally expect to be a little bit moved at least. Instead, I’m just finding her constant rambling about butter cake annoying. Willem’s reunion with an old friend Souwong and an old enemy Eboncandle went from surreal, to interesting, to infodump very quickly. Looks like it’s just me though, judging by the series’ high scores elsewhere.

Despite Bruno being one of my favourite characters in Oushitsu Kyoushi Haine, due to his quick and amusing change from superior know-it-all to Haine’s devoted disciple, this episode focusing on him wasn’t particularly funny. Especially compared with last week’s brilliant cafe episode, that was always going to be a tough act to follow. 😀 Character development and backstory seems to be the theme this week, and Bruno’s feelings of inferiority when compared with the first prince were relatable, but again nothing particularly new or exciting. Glad he decided to keep aiming for the throne, while also remaining friends with the scholar he respected. All the bonus points for the live-action ED, though they could have used special effects to give Haine a more accurate height; about half the guy’s actual height would do!

Strangely, I don’t dislike Rozenberg, despite him bringing plot to a comedy series… maybe because he’s acting subtly, so it’s not a jarring change of tone. Or maybe it’s just because he’s so good looking.

General comments:

Another show I’ve only specifically discussed once in 7 weeks (outside of screenshot comments) is Shingeki no Kyojin S2. Though the rest of the show’s huge fanbase always has plenty to say about it, so I’m not too worried. This episode was one long battle against the Colossal and Armoured titans, who’d been right next to Eren and co the whole time… given the rate they’re popping up now, it makes me wonder whether EVERYONE in the series is in fact secretly a titan, but is afraid to show their true form in case of being persecuted by (non-existent) regular humans. 😛 Crazy theories aside, more brilliant action, and further twists as Colossal Bertolt first used steam to repel his attackers, then seemingly dropped his upper half down onto Eren and Armoured Reiner! The latter two’s titanic grappling was exciting to watch – nice to see more of Annie in the flashback, too.

Back from a week off, Alice & Zouroku was pure feel-good slice of life this week. No evil agents or grand, bizarre super-powered battles, just haircuts and cute songs. And while it predictably didn’t score as highly from me as a result of that, it was certainly great to see Sana enjoying herself after all the horrible things that happened previously. Her being officially adopted into Zouroku’s family made for the perfect ending. I do wonder how long this peace and happiness will last, however…

Those songs were the best, though.

<< Spring 2017 Episode Rankings – Week 6

One Response to Spring 2017 Episode Rankings – Week 7

  1. […] << Spring 2017 Episode Rankings – Week 7 […]

Leave a Reply

