Summer 2017 Episode Rankings – Week 5

More holes in my lineup this week, due to the Athletics – no Shoukoku no AltairShingeki no Bahamut – Virgin Soul or Re:Creators (again). Annoying, since they’re some of the series I’ve discussed least this season, but at least none of them are in danger of being dropped next week.

Regarding the series that ARE in my lineup this week… a lot of unexpected movement. Do not adjust your PC monitors. 😛

[HorribleSubs] Princess Principal - 05 [720p].mkv_snapshot_08.45_[2017.08.06_22.31.27]

Already, more character development that in the first four eps of Vatican Kiseki Chousakan. 😛

1 – Princess Principal ep 5 (↑ 3)

2 – Made in Abyss ep 5 (↑ 5)

3 – Kakegurui ep 5 (↑ 2)

4 – Boku no Hero Academia S2 ep 18 (↓ 3)

5 – Vatican Kiseki Chousakan ep 5 (↑ 15)

6 – Sakura Quest ep 18 (↑ 5)

7 – Centaur no Nayami ep 5 (↑ 5)

8 – Ballroom e Youkoso ep 5 

9 – Gamers! ep 4 (↓ 3)

10 – Fate/Apocrypha ep 5 (↓ 7

11 – Nana Maru San Batsu ep 5 (↑ 6)

12 – Mahoujin Guru Guru (2017) ep 4 (↑ 2)

13 – Hitorijime My Hero ep 5 

14 – Keppeki Danshi! Aoyama-kun ep 5 (↑ 2)

15 – 18if ep 5 ( 4)

16 – Katsugeki Touken Ranbu ep 5 (↑ 2)

17 – Senki Zesshou Symphogear AXZ ep 5 (↓ 7

[HorribleSubs] Vatican Kiseki Chousakan - 05 [720p].mkv_snapshot_21.14_[2017.08.06_22.43.16]

And yet, it seems all hope is not lost for this series after all…

Moving up:

Not the biggest jump of the week by a long shot, but Princess Principal has consistently scored highly, this being its second time at #1. I’m enjoying this far more than I thought I would. The character interactions are fantastic (Ange and Chise’s short discussion about gods and aliens while messing up multiple guards’ card games being this week’s highlight), the soundtrack by Kajiura Yuki is just superb, and the sword fight between Chise and Jubei was fantastic as well. Plus, any episode involving assassins on a speeding train is always going to be exciting, it’s one of those settings that just never gets old for me. The series’ achronological episode order works well – last episode raised questions about who Chise was and what her/her master’s motives might be, and this episode answered them. I really hope the series remains as good throughout.

My personal rules are, I won’t drop anything that isn’t in the bottom 5 (based on average rankings) mid-season. Vatican Kiseki Chousakan just saved itself from elimination, with this one episode that was better in every way than the arc before it. MUCH better pacing, and actual character backstory and development – shame we couldn’t have had an ep like this to introduce our main duo before their breakneck first assignment! As for the story Hiraga told, I really liked it; guy gets 1,000 wishes from the devil, but this turns out to be less convenient than it sounds. After he grows up and finds himself all alone due to wishes gone wrong, he meets the woman of his dreams… literally, as he subconsciously created her. One thing I didn’t expect was for the young Hiraga to compare the guy to God, for creating life and loving his creation. A little blasphemous, surely?

[HorribleSubs] Boku no Hero Academia S2 - 18 [720p].mkv_snapshot_14.11_[2017.08.06_22.45.15]

Loved seeing a more (unintentionally?) funny side to Todoroki. 🙂

Moving down:

So many series to choose from for this. 😛 Another between-arc episode from Boku no Hero Academia S2, focusing on everyone’s reactions to the capture of Stain and the defeat of the rampaging Noumus. For our heroes, no fame – they’re not licensed to use their powers to beat up villains, so what they did would have to be treated as a crime if made public, therefore Endeavor got all the credit. At least they didn’t get into trouble over it! For the ‘League of Villains’, however, Stain’s ideology seems to have provided an enormous boost to their popularity and member count – I’m really hoping we’ll get to see more of them before the end of this second series! Next ep is apparently anime-original, focusing on other characters’ apprenticeship placements… I’m predicting another dip in the rankings, unless the focus on Tsuyu bumps it up. 😛

From first to last in five weeks… I’m really not feeling much excitement for Senki Zesshou Symphogear AXZ at the moment. It’s gotten more and more boring ever since that fantastic first episode. I really want to know more about the villains, we’ve seen a lot of them, and heard them talking with each other about many things, but I don’t really have a grasp of their motives or personalities. They pale in comparison with the previous season (GX, my personal fave) which had Carol, and the especially awesome Autoscorers. More than anything though, I wish they’d hurry up and get this ‘we have no LiNKER, but Maria, Shirabe and Kirika need to fight, WHAT SHALL WE DO!?’ theme out of the way, as I’m mostly in this for our main trio. Maybe I’ve been a little harsh on this episode in the rankings, but it left me both bored and frustrated, and I can’t argue with those feelings!

[HorribleSubs] Katsugeki Touken Ranbu - 05 [720p].mkv_snapshot_15.22_[2017.08.06_22.48.36]

Epic ship battles, canons firing, sword fights in a burning city… I wish I knew what this series was doing wrong for it to not capture my interest!

General comments:

Another series that doesn’t excite me is Katsugeki Touken Ranbu, but I don’t know why. I said while watching Hanamaru that I’d like it if the cast was smaller, and the focus was on the battle against the Time Retrograde Army; Katsugeki has given me both these things, this along with ufotable’s superb animation, but something’s still lacking. Maybe it’s the villains, they’re all just shadowy mob characters… oh, now there’s a big, powerful one that can actually fight? That should be cool. So why am I not excited? It’s when a series starts killing off its characters (or hinting they might be dead, nothing confirmed yet), and I find myself not particularly caring, that I have to wonder whether it’s worth keeping this on or not. While it’s never ranked last due to other eps being fundamentally worse, at least they have some ‘so bad, it’s good’ value going for them – this doesn’t.

Mahoujin Guru Guru (2017) is a safe distance from the red zone, and provides plenty of small, simple chuckles each week. There’s absolutely no depth to its plot or characters, it’s all comedy, and I’m fine with that, but long-term readers will know that such series rarely manage to compete in the rankings against more plot-driven or action-heavy series. This week: talking poodles, desert riddles, haircuts, sham sword instructors and an ending-theme training montage. Also a new character in Juju, who’ll no doubt end up joining their party in the near future. Switching to 8-bit RPG-style animation for the ship crossing was fantastic, it’s the little details like that which make this series shine… makes me want to spend more time on gaming though, a side hobby that I’ve been neglecting a lot recently.

[HorribleSubs] Mahoujin Guru Guru (2017) - 04 [720p].mkv_snapshot_20.23_[2017.08.06_22.59.10]

I wouldn’t even like to hazard a guess as to what kind of training this is supposed to be…

<< Summer 2017 Episode Rankings – Week 4

One Response to Summer 2017 Episode Rankings – Week 5

  1. […] << Summer 2017 Episode Rankings – Week 5 […]

Leave a Reply

