Summer 2017 Episode Rankings – Week 6

Usually, Week 6 is when I drop any shows I no longer like… but if I did that this time, I’d barely have anything to talk about here. For a second time, due to the athletics, no Shoukoku no Altair or Shingeki no Bahamut – Virgin Soul. The two shows I’d planned on dropping are re-instated for now, and I’m already reconsidering one of my decisions…

However, one surprise anime that is getting dropped from my blog lineup is Senki Zesshou Symphogear AXZ. Not due to its drop in rankings, but due to lack of subtitles. While I appreciate the effort fans are putting in to translate this series, my blog waits for no show! I will continue to watch it in my own time though, as and when it’s released.

[HorribleSubs] Princess Principal - 06 [720p].mkv_snapshot_17.56_[2017.08.14_00.08.13]

Another tragic father and daughter tale in Princess Principal, another easy #1 spot.

1 – Princess Principal ep 6 

2 – Fate/Apocrypha ep 6 (↑ 8)

3 – Re:Creators ep 17

4 – Kakegurui ep 6 (↓ 1)

5 – Made in Abyss ep 6 (↓ 3)

6 – Ballroom e Youkoso ep 6 (↑ 2)

7 – Gamers! ep 5 (↑ 2)

8 – Nana Maru San Batsu ep 6 (↑ 3)

9 – Centaur no Nayami ep 6 (↓ 2)

10 – Mahoujin Guru Guru (2017) ep 5 (↑ 2)

11 – Keppeki Danshi! Aoyama-kun ep 6 (↑ 3)

12 – Boku no Hero Academia S2 ep 19 (↓ 8)

13 – Vatican Kiseki Chousakan ep 6 (↓ 8)

14 – Hitorijime My Hero ep 6 (↓ 1)

15 – 18if ep 6 

16 – Sakura Quest ep 19 (↓ 10)

17 – Katsugeki Touken Ranbu ep 6 (↓ 1)

[UTW]_Fate_Apocrypha_-_06_[h264-720p][C7A63CDA].mkv_snapshot_18.01_[2017.08.14_00.14.36]

I hope we get a rematch between Jack and Mordred later in the series!

Moving up:

I am MUCH preferring Fate/Apocrypha to the last series I watched from the franchise, ufotable’s Unlimited Blade Works. The latter had many of the same boring character/dialogue issues that plague the studio’s latest offering, Katsugeki Touken Ranbu – shame they can’t get writers to match the quality of their animators! One thing Apocrypha does have in common with UBW, though, is its tendency to shoot up and down the rankings like a yo-yo each week; seems like the odd numbered eps are more slow and dialogue-heavy, while the even-numbered eps have all the good fights. 😮 The Servant battle of Mordred vs Jack the Ripper (and later Chiron) was fantastic, and the Masters didn’t hold back either! Earlier in the episode, we got more of a glimpse of Mordred’s past and relationship with King Arthur, also very good. A worthy second~

Making its Top 10 debut is Nana Maru San Batsu! Now well clear of the red zone, not that I’d drop it if it was still in there. The characters are definitely starting to grow on me, and I continue to be surprised by the sheer variety of different quiz formats there are out there. This week’s arcade setting was more reminiscent of Gamers! than anything, minus the mess of romantic misunderstandings. 😛 The quiz game was tense at some points and hilarious at others… shame it got interrupted by stereotypical anime thug characters, but the new character who saved Koshiyama and Co. has me intrigued. Again, seems like she’d be more at home in Gamers! or even Kakegurui with those manic faces and top gaming skills, but having someone like that on top of the more typical rival Mikuriya should keep things interesting.

[HorribleSubs] Nana Maru San Batsu - 06 [720p].mkv_snapshot_18.56_[2017.08.14_00.16.37].jpg

Best pairing.

Moving down:

After a surprisingly good two episodes of Sakura Quest, the series drops back down to its usual position. I did wonder whether I might have been underrating it all this time, but it seems that arc just appealed to my interests far more for whatever reason. The tourism Queen and her ministers are still in search of treasures in order to restore the old festival, and they find the second (a large drum) easily enough, albeit in a state of disrepair that will cost them a lot to fix back up again. The main focus of the ep was on Maki, however – her relationship with her father, her decision to quit university to pursue her dream career in acting, and her later decision to quit acting when that wasn’t going well. All good character development, to be fair, but nothing overly exciting or funny.

I’ve already talked loads about everything else that’s dropped, so I’ll just pick on Boku no Hero Academia S2 again because I feel like it. As I expected, this really felt like an anime original filler episode. The first half gave us more brief glimpses of the same apprenticeships that have been showing up in earlier eps a lot – Bakugo and Best Jeanist, Momo, Itsuka and Uwabami etc., while the second half featured a longer story centered around Tsuyu and her pro hero mentors. It was passable enough, helped by the fact I like her character, but the squid villains were fun and the action was decent. All very cliche and predictable though, and it didn’t add anything to the story. I guess episodes like this are fine every now and then, to rest and recover before the next exciting arc… just a shame it’ll impact on the series’ final ranking. 😛

[HorribleSubs] Boku no Hero Academia S2 - 19 [720p].mkv_snapshot_21.42_[2017.08.14_00.17.57]

That smile, though ❤

General comments:

I never would have expected that Re:Creators would take a place in my top 5 before my bottom 5. I really, really enjoyed this episode, so I’ll let it off for the recap and skipped weeks. This was very much what I picked the series up for though – Altair is a great villain: overpowered, intelligent, and always a step ahead of our heroes, so it’s always great to see them battling against her. Hopefully we’ll see a lot more of that now the ‘Elimination Chamber Festival’ is in full swing! The latter part of the episode saw Blitz meet with his creator, which was also very good, and very intense. I figured out early on in their discussion that Suruga would likely have resurrected Blitz’s daughter as part of the event, it’s well within the power of human authors to bring back characters they’ve previously killed off, after all! Presumably he’ll be switching sides now.

Hitorijime My Hero is in the red zone, and *could* end up being dropped from my lineup, though it wasn’t one of the two I’d planned to get rid of this week. As I’ve said many a time, romance isn’t really my genre, and the fact that this is shounen-ai (and less common in TV anime than heterosexual romance) isn’t enough on its own to justify keeping it on if it isn’t holding my interest. I preferred the first couple, Kensuke and Asaya, not least because they didn’t have the whole teacher and pupil thing going on, but they’re also more amusing to watch. There was some drama this week, with the return of the gang that used to order Masahiro around; he promptly ends up in the same position again. Meanwhile, Kousuke spends the whole episode not doing anything, and feeling bad about not doing anything, until he finally decides to do something. Thrilling.

[HorribleSubs] Re-Creators - 17 [720p].mkv_snapshot_15.13_[2017.08.14_00.21.48]

…sounds like a reasonable assumption to me!

<< Summer 2017 Episode Rankings – Week 5

3 Responses to Summer 2017 Episode Rankings – Week 6

  1. Imstillhungry says:

    Mm

    No military anime

    • It depends on what exactly you mean by that… there’s nothing for military otaku like Girls und Panzer, or any serious mech series like Iron-Blooded Orphans, either in my lineup or in the season as a whole (unless I’m forgetting something).

      However, Princess Principal provides plenty of espionage in a steampunk London on the brink of war. Then there’s Fate/Apocrypha, which takes legendary warriors and heroes from all points in history, and throws them into the modern world to fight against each other. Those would be my recommendations, assuming you were even looking for recommendations. 😛

  2. […] << Summer 2017 Episode Rankings – Week 6 […]

Leave a Reply

