Summer 2012 Episode Rankings – Week 4

After stalling my last post for the best part of a week to wait for Joshiraku episode 3, it got released a couple of hours after I lost patience. Typical. 😛 But if I added it back onto my weekly rankings list now, I’d have to stall THIS post in order to wait for episode 4, so I’ll stick to my earlier decision.

1 – Natsuyuki Rendezvous (4)

2 – Eureka Seven AO (15)

3 – Uchuu Kyoudai (17)

4 – Sword Art Online (4)

5 – Jinrui wa Suitai Shimashita (4)

6 – Kokoro Connect (4)

7 – Binbougami ga! (4)

8 – Moyashimon Returns (4)

– Rinne no Lagrange Season 2 (4)

10 – Tari Tari (4)

11 – Phi Brain: Kami no Puzzle 2 (16)

12  Yuru Yuri ♪♪ (4)

13 – Oda Nobuna no Yabou (4)

14 – Kyoukai Senjou no Horizon II (4)

15 – La Storia Della Arcana Famiglia (4)

16 – Muv-Luv Alternative: Total Eclipse (4)

General comments:

  • Moving up: Jinrui wa Suitai Shimashita. I think I’ve finally adjusted to the series’ madcap antics and dark undertones. The ‘Manzine’ arc was hilarious.
  • Moving down: Moyashimon Returns. I remember the first series being much funnier… I can only take so many educational episodes about sake, being teetotal. 😛
  • I expected that an Ana Gram-centric episode of Phi Brain would help it place higher than usual, but no. The formula is getting old and repetitive once again.
  • Yuru Yuri has also been underwhelming since its strong opening episode, and hasn’t delivered many laugh out loud moments over the past three weeks.
  • I’m hoping and expecting that Natsuyuki Rendezvous will hold the top spot for the majority of this season – there was certainly no competition this time around!

3 Responses to Summer 2012 Episode Rankings – Week 4

  1. Errant Princess says:

    Muv-Luv Alternative Total Chaos (much like the name implies) is just getting worse and worse, poor Japanese Doll. Glad to see Natsuyuki Rendezvous get some love, the characters are brilliant.

    • I was hopeful that Muv-Luv would improve after the third episode, having finally introduced the REAL main characters and setting, but episode four was pretty bad. Other problems aside (and there are A LOT), I’m not finding test pilots fighting virtual enemies that interesting. The mechs don’t even look nice, the CGI seems horribly dated for a 2012 anime…

      I only rated Natsuyuki Rendezvous 10th in the first week, but to be honest the first episode didn’t stand out. Shows like this take time to build up characters and relationships, hence why the series has risen sharply every week since then. 🙂

  2. Errant Princess says:

    Muv-Luv apparently peaked with its second episode for some reason, when the Beta were slaughtering everyone and chaos was the order of the day. The rest of the episode have descended into cliche characterization, lousy fan-service and of course like you said, bad CGI among other problems..

    Natsuyuki is the total opposite, it improves with each episode although the first episode was still decent I think, I can see why you would wait on rating it more highly.

Leave a comment