Shining Hearts: Ending of Disappointment Episode 12

I’ve really taken procrastination to a whole new level with this one, haven’t I? It’s been, what, six weeks since it ended? I struggled to motivate myself to rewatch this episode, partly because it was so boring, but mostly because I knew full well that anything I might write about it would be even worse than the rubbish I write about half decent episodes.

However, I’m a completionist. I can’t just forget that I was ever following this series. I have to write SOMETHING! I deliberately ended my 11th episode post with the promise of a conclusion, because I was determined to see it through. Otherwise, the fact that searching for Shining Hearts on my blog only brings up 11 posts would continue to annoy me. 😛 So a warning to all readers: this post is largely to satisfy my own mind. You don’t have to read it!

The previous episode built up towards an epic conclusion. Rick is now a flying, sword-wielding baker, who’s set out to save a damsel in distress from an army of lizards from another dimension. We have little idea why any of this is happening, but you’d think there would be some entertainment to be found in watching the battle take place anyway, right? Even I, disillusioned as I was by previous episodes, held onto the faint hope that the finale would be fun to watch, purely from a generic, action packed, good thwarting evil perspective.

The fight was over within 6 minutes. It can be summarized as follows: Rick flies through a magical portal on the lizard’s flagship, slices through some tentacles, and ends up face to face with their boss. He gets thrown about a bit, and seems to have lost the fight, when Kaguya’s pendant (still in his possession) starts to shine, blinding the lizard boss… and Rick takes advantage of this to defeat him. How brave. Meanwhile, Hank’s cannon and Queen’s lasers make quick work of the huge armoured vessel.

Okay, so that was a bit disappointing. I can live with disappointment, I’m well used to it from this show by this point. But what’s even worse than a disappointing end to the ‘plot’ is what comes afterwards… because we’re only a quarter of the way through the episode.

The existential rubbish, happy happy baking scenes and poor attempts at closure which took up the remaining 18 minutes have to be seen to be truly appreciated, however, so I won’t write about them (I considered summarizing them in one paragraph as well, but it just couldn’t be done). Instead, I highly recommend you watch it yourselves. Or rewatch it, if you’ve already done so. 🙂

So… this series was really, really bad. It’s biggest flaw was the fact it was made, and it could have been significantly improved by not existing in the first place. Sounds a bit like my blog.

If you hadn’t already noticed, I’ve not picked up a summer season show to blog weekly. I haven’t had the energy after Shining Hearts, and doubt I’ll have the time either now that I’m a respectable member of society and all. Still, I don’t intend to post nothing but weekly rankings from now until October either – I’ve got a few more Overlooked and/or Underrated series to promote, and hope to come up with a few other ideas too!

3 Responses to Shining Hearts: Ending of Disappointment Episode 12

  1. Justin says:

    “The previous episode built up towards an epic conclusion. Rick is now a flying, sword-wielding baker, who’s set out to save a damsel in distress from an army of lizards from another dimension.”

    LOL WHAT

    “So… this series was really, really bad. It’s biggest flaw was the fact it was made, and it could have been significantly improved by not existing in the first place.”

    No, it could have existed…as an 18+ series. You had the harem and Tony Taka, that might have been the only reason to keep this series around.

    “…Sounds a bit like my blog.”

    😦

    • LOL WHAT indeed… it really felt as though they were making the ‘plot’ up as they went along, and it just got messier and more ridiculous with every episode.

      Fanservice or full on hentai could have justified the series. Comedy would have been fine too. But it had very little of either, and not much else going for it. 😦

      Maybe I was being a bit harsh on myself there, but my last 2-3 Shining Hearts posts were far from the greatest things I’ve ever written. 😛

  2. Mark says:

    yes tis little dissapointing the characters were pretty well made but the story is not. Characters are not being use in their greatest extent

Leave a comment